Rice Krispies are made with malt syrup, which is not gluten-free
Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not gluten-free because they are made with malt syrup, which comes from barley and may contain gluten.
Gluten is a protein present in wheat, rye, barley, and spelt that can cause adverse effects in people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. When searching for gluten-free products, it is important to read ingredient labels carefully to check for these ingredients.
What brands make gluten-free rice cereal treats?
Kellogg’s stopped selling gluten-free versions of Rice Krispies a few years ago because of low sales.
Fortunately, however, other brands make gluten-free rice cereal treats. Popular options include Back to Nature Gluten-Free Sprout and Shine Cereal, Malt-O-Meal Crispy Rice Cereal (which does not contain gluten even though the name has the word “malt”), and Millville Crispy Rice Cereal (not certified gluten-free).
Other brands that make gluten-free rice cereal include:
- One Degree Organic
- Nature’s Path
How to make gluten-free rice crispy treats
You can also make gluten-free rice crispy treats at home fairly easily.
- 6 cups gluten-free crispy rice cereal
- 6 tablespoons salted butter
- 16 ounces mini marshmallows, divided
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
- Line a 9×13-inch baking tray with parchment paper and set aside.
- In a large pot, melt the butter over medium heat. As soon as the butter begins to foam, which should take about 2-3 minutes, whisk until the butter starts to turn brown then lower the heat.
- Add marshmallows, setting aside 1 cup. Stir for 2-3 minutes until the marshmallows have melted. Clumps may form, which is fine.
- Remove the mixture from the heat and add vanilla and the remaining cup of marshmallows.
- Add 3 cups of cereal and fold into the melted marshmallows.
- Pour the ingredients slowly into the tray, using a greased, rubber spatula to spread the mixture evenly on the tray. Do not use too much pressure while spreading, as this can produce hard rice crispy treats.
- Place a piece of aluminum foil over the tray, and let it sit at room temperature for 2 hours to cool and set.
- Cut into squares and serve.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
In the grocery store, there is a good chance that the bag of marshmallows you choose will be gluten-free.
Two major companies, Kraft Foods Inc. and Doumak Inc., produce gluten-free marshmallows in the U.S.
Medically Reviewed on 7/29/2022
Types of Gluten-Free Rice. https://www.webmd.com/diet/types-of-gluten-free-rice
A Review on the Gluten-Free Diet: Technological and Nutritional Challenges. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6213115/
Perfect Rice Krispie Treats Recipe. https://www.shugarysweets.com/perfect-rice-krispie-treats/